Egbin Power Plc is the largest power generating station in Nigeria with an installed capacity of 1,320 MW consisting of 6 Units of 220MW each. The station is located at Ijede / Egbin, in Ijede Town, about 40 km north east of the city of Lagos in Ikorodu Local Government Area, it is situated on low land in Ijede and bounded by the Lagoon to the south, Agura/Gberigbe to the north and situated in Ijede Local Council Development Area. The government acquired most of the land for the project by resettling the inhabitants to Ipakan. The first unit of the plant was commissioned in
July 1985,while the last was commissioned in September 1986. The station is of reheat type with high intermediate low pressure impulse reaction turbine design and a hydrogen cooled generator.

Construction work started in 1982 by Marubeni Consortium which used Hitachi Company of Japan for the Electric/Mechanical and Bouygues of France for civil works. The first unit (Unit 3) was completed and commissioned on the 13th May, 1985 and the other five units were commissioned at six-monthly intervals .Upon completion of the ramp-structured edifice, the commissioning was carried out under the auspice of the then Head of States and commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces, General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida.

The Egbin Thermal Power Plant is a gas-fired plant with six 220MW independent boiler turbine units. It can also run on High Pour Fuel Oil, commonly called HPFO.


Egbin Power Station Complex
Ijede Town
Ikorodu, 1013